On being unemployed

Yes, thats right, I was laid off from my day job as of Tuesday at noon.  It was quite a shock and I have spent the last couple of days updating my professional resume, getting my design portfolio even more polished and together, and even scraping together a nannying resume.  I am hitting it at all angles and am determined to have something new by September 1st!  The good news is I already have a job interview tomorrow that I am really excited about — but I don’t want to jinx it, so no info about that until I have more to say.

In other news — have you folks heard of ChaCha?  My roomate Allison first introduced me to it.  Basically you can text any question you may have to ChaCha (242242) and it will respond with an answer. There is no charge except for your regular texting charges, and since my phone now has unlimited texting (thanks to Griffin and his endless campaigning on that front), it costs me nothing.  I sometimes ask for a silly joke, or fact, Allison has asked for the best place to get her car smogged and it responded with pricing and location.  Seriously, this thing is amazing.  So I decided that I wanted to learn more about ChaCha.  Is it a computer answering these questions?  Come to find out, there are actually ChaCha “guides” that work from their homes, scouring the interwebs and answering your questions.  They get paid 10 cents an answer.  So I signed up a couple of weeks ago thinking that it might be a fun thing to do when I am at home on the evenings at my computer anyways, and you all know how I feel about sites like Google, Wikipedia and IMDB.  I get addicted!  So what better way to feed my hunger for pointless facts than to paid to find the answers for people, right?

.

.

.

Wrong.  I mean, at 10 cents an answer I would have to answer ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY questions to earn 15 dollars!!  That is just plain crazy!!  And to get my rent paid, I will need to answer FIVE THOUSAND, FIVE HUNDRED and FIFTY questions.  I better get started!

[Okay – it has been brought to my attention that I am an idiot, but really, I plan on having a job by OCTOBER 1st, not September!  I am not going to be waiting a year to find work, that would be tragic indeed.]

3 Responses

  1. You mean october first- you had a job on september first- you had better get you priorities straight or you arent going to have a job till next year

  2. totally using chacha right now haha

  3. ooOOoo Resumes, portfolios AND a chacha?? wow, life is just full of excitement 🙂 hey, check this out:

    http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/video/clips/palin-hillary-open/656281/

Leave a Reply

